Schiphol aviation awards acknowledge community contribution


The winners of the 2017 Schiphol Aviation Awards were announced last night by Amsterdam Airport Schiphol COO, Birgit Otto at the Schiphol Centre, Amsterdam.

The annual awards ceremony is organised by Schiphol Group to recognise customers and business partners that have made an especially strong or positive performance to the airport community during the year.

The awards are made up of four categories – Cargo Airline of the Year, Passenger Airline of the Year – Europe, Passenger Airline of the Year – Intercontinental, and a Sustainability Award.

Three organisations are shortlisted in each category, and all shortlisted organisations receive a certificate to acknowledge their contribution to the Schiphol Airport community.

The awards evening concluded with a networking dinner for members of the airport community to celebrate the efforts and achievements of the year.

Winners of the 2017 awards are:

2017 Cargo Airline of the Year winner: KLM Cargo
The other nominees were Turkish Cargo and AirBridgeCargo Airlines.

2017 Best Passenger Airline award – Europe winner: Transavia
The two other nominated parties were easyJet and KLM

2017 Best Passenger Airline award – Intercontinental winner: American Airlines
Besides American Airlines, Jet Airways and KLM were also nominated.

2017 Sustainability award winner: KLM
Vanderlande and TUI fly were the other nominees in this category.